Tags

,

I have been testing my BS several times per day for a week now. The first day arising was 315 then others during that day ranged between mid-200s up to 300 and one over 500-yikes! That was a after a serving of egg custard- milk has a lot of carbs it seems. Milk has to go too. I think of it as protein but actually milk and yogurt have a lot of lactose. Cheese is OK and cream-they’re all fat. That explains why recently after a generous serving of plain yogurt before teaching my Zumba class I could not focus at all. That’s not an experience I want to repeat. I checked my husband’s BS right after he ate a big dinner with a lot of rice and it was 80. Kind of took the wind out of my sails. Spent the whole week on an emotional roller coaster feeling deprived and “Why me?” alternating with fear (diabetes can get quite nasty) and bouts of optimism gained through meditation, bolstering my conviction that I can do this. Then at the weeks end I averaged all my morning fasting BS scores for the entire week and averaged them. My average score after the first week on the low carb diet- 236 -down 79 points! That realization was such a mood booster and encouragement. My pancreas is definitely sluggish but is responding to the diet and mental visualization exercises. I have a guide that is an old lady that lives in a log cabin in the woods. In my mind, I first take a long walk through the peaceful woods before arriving at her cabin. She is elderly, very slender and has long gray braided hair. I sit at her table and she says to me:

NO MATTER HOW MODERN LIFE GETS, DON’T FORGET THAT YOU ARE AN ANIMAL CONNECTED TO THE EARTH. ANIMALS DO GET DIABETES BUT ONLY WHEN THEIR DIET IS INNAPROPRIATE OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME. YOU HAVE BEEN PUTTING THINGS INTO YOUR MOUTH FOR PURPOSES OTHER THAN NUTRITION FOR A VERY LONG TIME. IF YOU STAYED HERE I WOULD FEED YOU TEAS MADE FROM LOCAL ROOTS AND PLANTS AND STEW MADE FROM FRESH MEATS AND HOME GROWN VEGETABLES.

Sounds very healthy- must look into helpful herbs.

